

2022 APPA AWARD WINNERS

CARMEN RODRIGUEZ MEMBER OF THE YEAR

Kristopher Steele - Education Program Manager for the Supreme Court of Ohio Judicial College

Serving as an APPA volunteer since 2016, Steele takes an essential role in helping the annual training institutes run smoothly. For nearly 20 years, Steele has served the entire State of Ohio by producing in-person and virtual continuing education opportunities for probation and parole officers. Prior to his current position, Kristopher worked for 10 years as an intensive probation counselor for the Delaware County Court in Ohio.

This award recognizes an APPA member who has shown incredible energy and dedication in support of community corrections and the vision and mission of APPA. It is presented in honor of the late Carmen Rodriguez, who was a champion of APPA membership and a past recipient of the Member of the Year Award. Active, engaged APPA members like Steele are essential for advancing APPA as a professional network of probation and parole officers that provide support, information, and experiences to help grow the future of community corrections.

THE WALTER DUNBAR MEMORIAL AWARD

Mark Carey - Founder of The Carey Group and Carey Group Publishing in Atlanta Georgia

The oldest APPA practitioner award, this award recognizes significant contributions by a practicing professional or a retired practitioner and is presented in honor of one of APPA's most distinguished colleagues, the late Walter Dunbar.

Carey is a thought leader whose publications and presentations have advanced the field of probation and parole in its policy development and analysis. He has also given his time and talent tirelessly to many APPA Leadership Institute classes and helped develop the first APPA Leadership Summit. He has also trained and coached thousands of probation, parole, and court personnel in evidence-based practices.

Carey has more than 40 years of experience in the correctional field, serving as a counselor, probation and parole officer, planner, administrator and consultant. Carey served as the deputy commissioner of Community and Juvenile Services for the Minnesota Department of Corrections, the director of Dakota County Community Corrections, the director of Dodge-Fillmore-Olmstead County Community Corrections and the warden of MCF Shakopee, the only women's prison in Minnesota.

THE SCOTIA KNOUFF LINE OFFICER OF THE YEAR AWARD

Kelli Spriggs - Supervisor of the Rapid Engagement Team (RET) operated by the Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency for the District of Columbia (CSOSA)

The most prestigious practitioner award offered by APPA, this award honors a probation, parole or community corrections officer who has performed assigned duties in an outstanding manner.

The Community Supervision Officers on this team, represented by Spriggs, continue to make their presence known in the community. Whether it is answering a request for an emergency GPS installation, conducting unscheduled home visits on the highest risk offenders, visiting recent shooting victims, attempting to locate absconders from treatment programs, hosting community walks in the highest crime areas, and more, the RET is always there when we need them the most.

RET members include Aloris Wilkins, Antonio Jackson, Callieshia Wimbush, Carroll Midgette, Danielle Kirchue, Eric Tagne, Jaime Harman, Kelli Spriggs, ShaDonna Claiborne, Tiwana Smith, Tracy White, and Tynika Cobbs.

The APPA REFORMER HONOR

Bryan Stevenson - Equal Justice Initiative

Bryan Stevenson, is a widely acclaimed public interest lawyer and bestselling author of *Just Mercy*. As only the second recipient of this award in APPA history, Stevenson was recognized for his service and commitment to community corrections reform through his work as the Founder and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative (EJI), a human rights organization in Montgomery, Alabama. Under his leadership, EJI has won major legal challenges eliminating excessive and unfair sentencing, exonerating innocent death row prisoners, confronting abuse of the incarcerated and the mentally ill, and aiding children prosecuted as adults.

THE APPA PRESIDENT'S AWARD

Antonio Gomez - Alameda County Probation Department

Antonio Gomez is a unit supervisor in the Juvenile Field Services Section of the Alameda County Probation Department in California. Gomez received the honor for his work in implementing the <u>Wall of Success</u>, a program highlighting client successes and healthy changes. The APPA President's Award is bestowed upon individuals, agencies, and programs that have advanced their system through effective and innovative community corrections or crime prevention programs, advancements in technology, or publishing a national article which provides insight into effective community corrections practices.

The JOE KEGANS AWARD FOR VICTIM SERVICES IN PROBATION AND PAROLE

Libby Hamilton - Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Libby Hamilton is the Victim Liaison for the Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles. Hamilton was recognized for developing the Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles' Victim Liaison program, where she provides staff the necessary training and guidance. In addition to being appointed by Texas Governor Gregg Abbott to the Texas Crime Victim's Institute Advisory Council, Hamilton and her staff have provided support for over 1,400 victims and their families.